Me

This sweetness fills me…it is but a taste

A small token of what I cannot have

I sip on it hoping to make it last

I almost want to cry at the beauty

I know I will never feel again

I hold on

Gripping too tightly and ruining what I have

The tears fall

I have lost

This I see with these eyes that know

“If only” I whisper as I realize my cup is empty

And let it fall slowly onto the ground

Coming to rest with the other forgotten items

I have left here in this barren wasteland

That is me

Tell me what you think

