A Tale

It is a story I tell about the ones who left

The love that was lost

Those who did not see me until I was long gone

It is full of truth and tinged with love

It makes some people laugh and others cry

It is a good tale

I know it well

I have told it so many times

The pages of the book are tattered

Perhaps a chapter is missing

Maybe lost in a move or during a windstorm

They ask for these words

And listen with wide eyes and eager ears

As I regale them with details

Of the roads less travelled and embraces lost in time

This tome holds the names of my memories

And now you are part of the story

That I sometimes skip

Because it is something I would rather not think

Of in my journey

But every once in a while

I repeat those words that include you and miss you

For that is all you are now

A story I tell that makes me remember and makes me laugh

And wonder if maybe I should leave this part out

As it does not fit with the rest

It seems a misfit, a stranger

Just as you seem to be someone I did not know at all

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. solar future
    May 09, 2013 @ 11:34:55

    Good article. I will be experiencing some of these
    issues as well..

    Reply

  2. sleeping beauty
    Jun 27, 2014 @ 06:12:52

    Wow that was strange. I just wrote ann really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that ovger again. Anyway, just wanted to say great
    blog!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

