Wait

You told me to wait

Treated me like I

Was a child who wanted

Forbidden candy

I looked down in shame

Wanting to please you

Knowing that I caused

Irritation with my desire

I went back to the place

You indicated I belonged

And sat down cross-legged

Foolishly believing you

Would come for me

Minutes passed to hours

Hours to days

And I looked out the window

At the setting sun

And realized you

Would never be back

I would cry except

I know that my tears

Would be seen by no one

And my sorrow would be

Unknown to you

As silly as it seems

I hate to cry alone

So I swallow my tears

And stand up stretching

Swearing to myself

“Never again!”

Hoping I will not

But knowing myself

All too well

Tell me what you think

