Heat

I am lost and alone in this desert

The heat burns my face

As your words have burned my soul

I believe that I am not anything

I am but a figment of some other God’s imagination

I can’t imagine a world where I am

Something that others see as real

I walk through the sand and burn my bare feet

I cannot tell where I am as there are no landmarks

Nothing to tell me my position

I am lost

I have no bearings in this land

Of sun and heat and loneliness

I am alone

I try to say your name and realize

I no longer remember it

I can see your face but I no longer taste your skin

I cannot feel your lips on mine

Or see you look at me

The sorrow is there and I don’t know how to make it leave

I think that if I were to lay down and sleep

The pain might stop and I might feel something new

Something that does not rip and tear

And cause me to bleed

As I look at the blinding sun and realize it’s heat

I see that I am going to die here alone

In this desert with nothing to feel but hot sun

And the emptiness of your absence

And the sadness of not

Having you

Tell me what you think

