Pawn

The knife can make me bleed

Help me to die

Take me away from this world of sorrow

But I fear my conscious will still exist here

Living on in pain, wishing for the silence

I believed physical death would bring

So I stand with blade poised

Looking at my lifeblood

Wishing I had the courage to die but knowing

I am but a pawn in this silly game

I thought I held the chess piece

But in the glaring light of morning I realize

I was not in control

I had no power at all

Just my silly thoughts and hopeless dreams

Making me think I was alive

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Scott Mitchell
    May 02, 2012 @ 10:43:45

    Awesome writing as always. Also, I love how you title the poems. I sometimes try to title mine in a similar way. The power of one word to initiate a reader into the story

    Reply

Tell me what you think

