The Gift

I wrapped your gift in beautiful paper

And a pretty bow

I wore my best party dress and my favorite shoes

You were at the head of the table

Laughing and joking as you often do

I shyly offered you my gift

On wobbly knees

Just a hint of a smile

Afraid you won’t like it

You take it with a grin and open it greedily

When you see what I have packed so carefully inside

You look up at me

Surprised for a moment

Then you begin to laugh

“Why would I want this?” you ask with a sly grin

I shake my head and whisper

“I thought that’s what you asked for.”

You toss your head back and laugh

And throw my gift to the side

“I don’t need that tired worn thing!”

You turn away and begin eating your big piece of cake

I bow my head and leave quickly, wanting to run

To get away from your laughter

I scurry to the corner of my yard

And sit in the grass

And cry

“Such a stupid gift!” I say

Knowing that giving you my heart was

Probably the most ridiculous

Present in the world

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Scott Mitchell
    May 03, 2012 @ 04:47:48

    Very creative and well written

    Reply

  2. Toasha
    May 03, 2012 @ 23:18:52

    Thank you Scott. My gift is often not well received.

    Reply

  3. Scott Mitchell
    May 05, 2012 @ 07:35:15

    Well, I’ve even been told what gifts to give even after I’ve given everything 🙂

    Reply

  4. Toasha
    May 05, 2012 @ 12:42:01

    Oh Scott…isn’t that how it always is? Your heart and soul is never enough. Until they lose you and come running back to find you are long gone.

    Reply

Tell me what you think

