Vast

If it were not for my heart

Beating, forcing me to breathe

I would shed this mantle of you

Crawl out from under it

Like an old skin that I no longer

Need nor want

I would bury my desire

Cover it with dirt and leaves

Hoping to camouflage so I cannot see

Perhaps this work I make of dismantling

Ripping you from me

Will make me weary and let me sleep

Instead of endless nights of sorrow

And tears with nowhere to fall

As I lay in a vast emptiness

Remembering when your body warmed mine

Knowing I shall forever be cold

Until I have killed every piece of me

That belongs to you

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shianwrites
    May 04, 2012 @ 08:04:13

    Wow, this is so raw, deep and beautifully written.

    Reply

  2. Archana
    May 05, 2012 @ 13:09:02

    Beautiful!!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

