Taste

You taste like sorrow

Like broken dreams in a weedy backyard

A favorite skirt torn

A broken toy

You taste like desire

Delicate wisps of heaven glimpsed

Memories of those things coveted

Delicious sweet chocolate

You taste of memories

A mother’s smile and soft kiss

A scabbed knee

A sunset at the beach

Your taste frightens me

I do not wish for it to be

Something in my mouth

Or in my heart

So I shall not open to this

For fear of scalding

My silly tongue

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Silver Poet
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 20:17:55

    a slice of ginger should get rid of that taste and leave you fresh and ready to explore!

    Reply

  2. Toasha
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 22:43:17

    Ginger? Thank you for the suggestion! 🙂

    Reply

Tell me what you think

