Eternal

You do not remember

But we grew old

Our hands intertwined

Wrinkles full of stories

Faces lined with devotion

A lifetime of birthdays

And anniversaries

We have come full circle

Yet now you look at me

And see nothing but dewy skin

Thick golden hair

And love

As I lay here dying

Mechanical means helping me breathe

You open your eyes from prayer

To see me in my perfect state

I shall be eternally young

Surrounded by your love

Even as I slip from this plane

To the next

Young and lovely

Made eternal

By you

Tell me what you think

