These Tears

These tears

They make me angry

Make me want to give myself a lecture

About the uselessness of sorrow

Tell myself that this saltiness

Only tastes good on fried foods

And popcorn

My tears make me feel weak

They make me wish for invincibility

They make me wish for you

That desire makes me furious

I want to shake myself

Tell myself I am being ridiculous

But instead I let them fall

And watch them collect on my lap

On my cheeks

In my heart

These tears

They shall be the death of this pain

Or at least I can wish for that

As I cry

Like a child without his favorite blanket

Or a clown without his smile

These tears will make me strong

Or at least that is what I tell myself

As I cry and wish

For sleep

Tell me what you think

