You Look Good on Paper

You look good on paper

An almost perfect match

The words chronicle this

Hero to my heroine

I devour the declarations

My eyes tired and scratchy

From straining to see your adoration

The ink has dried but I prefer

To imagine it flowing from the tip of your pen

As you press quite hard on the paper

Regaling me with your tales

Of  love

Your desire

This insane need

For me

My brow furrows in disconcertment

As the logical me

Realizes these utterances

Are nothing more

Than just that

Words

I sigh and lift my eyes

To the night sky

As I dream of how good

You look on paper

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David Eric Cummins
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 05:54:10

    Brilliant! I’ve felt that way before. You put it into words perfectly. 🙂

    Reply

Tell me what you think

