To answer your query

I do not believe in love

The years have shown me it is but an idea

A poem, a song, a painting

A caricature of  that we all wish for

Something not real

I can weave you a web of words

Designed to make you feel

You may presume this emotion love

But I will tell you

It is not genuine

A release of endorphins

An intake of breath

A dream you have as a child

A fairy tale

For I can say with certainty

That every time you conceive it true

You shall find yourself at some point in time

Remembering that feeling, yearning for it

As you look at your lover

Seeing the true light play on their face

Their absolute reality

Love?

A beautiful dream

But nothing more

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David Eric Cummins
    Jul 14, 2013 @ 01:09:04

    Excellent. I love the cold formality of that opening line “To answer your query, I do not believe in love…” Sets the tone perfectly! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Fire | The Noise of Silence

Tell me what you think

